Payback

Anna, wearing a low-cut blouse, watched two men in suits get on the crowded bus outside Guadalajara’s Banco de Mexico. “Wealthy bankers,” she thought.

“They wanted money to buy more inventory for their shoe store,” the younger man said in English. “I turned them down.”

“Es lastima,” his friend responded. “It is a pity.”

Anna patted the older man’s behind as he ogled her breasts.

Anna exited the bus and opened the wallet. Five thousand pesos. She took the bills, tossed the wallet into the trash, and thought, Enough to buy groceries for my family for a month.


Mel Goldberg: Born in Chicago, Illinois, I earned my MA, taught literature and writing in California, Illinois, Arizona, and at Stanground College in Cambridgeshire, England. For seven years, my wife and I lived in a small motor home, traveling the US, Canada, and Mexico. Much of my writing is poetry. In 2018, I won the grand prize for a haiku in the Setouchi Matsuyama contest in Matsuyama, Japan. In 2019, Red Moon Press published my book of haiku, “The Weight of Snowflakes”. In 2020, Finishing Line Press published my book of free verse poetry, “Memories”. In 2022, Cyberwit Press published my book of free verse poetry, “If We Survive”.