When Green Turns Red

Envy prickles the back of my neck where little hairs used to be before I shaved my head. I watch Jill copy me as her hair falls to the floor. She’d agreed to shave her head with me for the breast cancer fundraiser.

“Anna,” she smiles, “you like it?”

I nod, and silently blush. Jill is so carefree. Everyone loves Jill, including her parents. My folks would kill me if they knew I liked girls too. She reads my mind again.

“Anna, your parents are wrong. It’s not just a phase.”

She touches my cheek, which blushes a louder red.


Kim kjagain Moes of Nanaimo, BC, lived in an RV and traveled extensively around North America for several years, but after selling her Majestic home on wheels last year, she is living part-time here and there while maintaining a primary residence in Canada. Her work can be found online and in print, in English and Spanish. On writing, she says, “Write the life we live, explore the lessons not yet learned, and then, eat catharsis for dinner.” Twitter: @kjagain.