A Simple Request

“You’re starting a new school,” she said; “don’t tell your new friends you were adopted.”

What about my friends at my old school? I guess I don’t have to talk to them anymore.

Won’t someone notice that there aren’t any baby pictures? I could just flip through pictures quickly if it comes up.

What is my ethnicity? Lie.

How do I respond when they say I don’t look like my Dad? Smile and say “OK.”– hope they move on.

What about my old yearbooks? Hide them.

Don’t tell anyone – forever? I guess that’s what she means.

“OK,” I quietly responded.


Katherine Shehadeh is an attorney, wife, and mom to two little boys. When not busy with work and family, she enjoys traveling, reading, and writing. Twitter: @your_mominlaw.


One thought on “A Simple Request

Comments are closed.